State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF EMERGENCY
California Pollution Control Financing REGULATORY ACTION
Authority

Regulatory Action: Government Code Sections 11346.1 and

Title 04, California Code of Regulations 11349.6

Amend sections: 8034, 8035 OAL Matter Number: 2025-0304-03

OAL Matter Type: Emergency Readopt (EE)

This action readopts the emergency regulations filed in OAL File Number 2025-0130-
01E that reduced and eliminated certain fees related to the Small Business Assistance
Fund. Additionally, it adds a new subsection (b) that reduces fees for small businesses
refunding transactions by one tenth of a percent and restores language specifying that
all other financings eligible for volume cap allocation will be subject to an Administrative
Fee of two tenths of one percent.

OAL approves this emergency regulatory action pursuant to sections 11346.1 and
11349.6 of the Government Code.

This emergency regulatory action is effective on 3/11/2025 and will expire on 6/10/2025.
The Certificate of Compliance for this action is due no later than 6/9/2025.
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Date: March 11, 2025

Anna Thomas
Attorney

For: Kenneth J. Pogue
Director
Original: Shela Tobias-Daniel, Executive
Director
Copy:- Morgan Matz



PROPOSED TEXT OF REGULATIONS

Title 4. Business Regulations
Division 11. California Pollution Control Financing Authority
Article 3. General Provisions Relating to Authority Actions

Text of Modified Regulations
§ 8034. General Fees.

The Authority charges the following fees for reasonable and necessary administrative and program
expenses connected with the sale of bonds:

(a) Where the financing requested is not eligible for allocation of volume cap pursuant to 26 U.S.C.
Section 146, the Authority charges a fee for reasonable and necessary administrative and
program expenses connected with the sale of the bonds. For an applicant who is not a small
business as defined in Section 8020, the fee shall be one tenth of one percent (.001) of the face
value of the bonds issued. In addition, the Authority will charge an annual fee each year for the life
of the financial assistance in the amount of five one-hundredths of one percent (.0005) of the
remaining balance of the financial assistance, with a minimum annual fee of $1,000 and a
maximum annual fee of $75,000.

(b) For small business applicants in refunding transactions, the fee shall be one tenth of one percent
(.001) of the face value of the bonds issued.

(cXby In all other financings, the fee shall be two tenths of one percent (.002) of the face value of the
bonds issued.

(d){e) The applicant shall also reimburse the Authority for all reasonable and necessary out of pocket
expenses which the Authority may incur at the applicant's request and all other expenses direct or
indirect, properly allocable to the proposed financing. Unless paid out of the proceeds of the
bonds issued, all fees for a particular proposed financing shall be paid by the applicant and
deposited in the Authority Fund. The Authority shall be authorized to use general fees deposited in
the Authority Fund to support Authority programs, including, but not limited to, the Capital Access
Loan Program authorlzed by Article 7 of this D|V|S|on 11.

Authority cited: Section 44520, Division 27, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Sections 44520, 44525, and 44537.5, Division 27, Health and Safety Code.

§ 8035. Small Business Assistance Fund Fees.

(a) The Authority shall charge an applicant who is not a public agency or a small business as defined
in Section 8020 a fee in addition to the fees required by Sections 8033 and 8034. The additional
fee shall fund the Small Business Assistance Fund (SBAF). The amount of the fee shall be sixty-
six-one-hundredths-of onepercent{-0066) thirty-three one-hundredths of one percent (.0033) of
the face value of any tax exempt bonds issued and three tenths of one percent (.003) of the face
value of any taxable bonds issued; provided, that in connection with the issuance of taxable bonds




for which the .003 fee is charged, if such taxable bonds are refinanced-with-or converted to tax
exempt bonds, the applicant shall pay an additional fee for deposit into the Small Business
Assistance Fund in the amount of thirty-six one-hundredths of one percent (.0036) of the face
value of such taxable bonds. In the case of refunding-er conversion of bonds, the fee percentage
applicable on the date the original bonds were issued will be used to determine if additional SBAF
fees are collectable. If the company did not pay a SBAF fee originally, the current fee percentage
will apply to refundings-er-conversions. If federal tax law or other legal provisions prevent the
imposition of the above fees, each fee shall be the maximum that can legally be charged.

(b) The Authority shall refund a portion of the fee charged pursuant to subdivision (a) of this section if
the occurrence of a subsequent event causes the original fee to exceed the amount allowed by
federal tax law provisions, causing the bonds to lose their tax exempt status. The refund shall be
the difference between the original fee charged and the maximum fee subsequently determined to
be chargeable by bond counsel approved by the Authority.

(c) The Authority shall refund a portion of the fee charged if, in the judgment of the Authority, the
amount in the Small Business Assistance Fund account exceeds the amount needed to operate
the Small Business Assistance Fund program and to assist small businesses obtain financing. If
the Authority makes a refund pursuant to this subdivision, the amount of the refund payable to
each applicant shall be computed by multiplying the total amount to be refunded by the
percentage each applicant contributed in fees to the total fees collected pursuant to this section.

(d) If an applicant refinances existing bonds with the issuance of new bonds, it shall receive a credit
against the fee charged pursuant to this section in an amount equal to the net Small Business
Assistance Fund fees paid on the earlier bonds.

(e) The assessment of the fee provided for in subsection (a) is waived on all financing transactions
closing on or before December 31, 2026.

Authority cited: Section 44520 and 44548, Health and Safety Code.

Reference: Section 44548, Health and Safety Code.





